Exploring collections and identities at the museum

How do museum collections relate to how we identify ourselves?

I’ve never thought about this before, here are my first thoughts:

  • It gives us a sense that we have a historical and geographical context.
  • We can see examples of how others have expressed themselves e.g. Through painting & sculpture 
  • What we are drawn to and how we respondtells us something about ourselves – I am drawn to the intricate and I’m one of those people who likes to read the labels, I want to understand & know why.

I should add that a museum curator was one of the things I wanted to be when I grew up!

Our historical context

Our geographical context

  

The quirky

    

The intricate

  

The spiritual

          

Leave a Reply

